Meet the Press

Sundays from 11am-12pm

"Meet the Press," the longest-running program ever on network television, premiered on NBC-TV on November 6, 1947, with James A. Farley, the former chairman of the Democratic National Committee and Franklin Roosevelt’s postmaster general, as its’ first guest. The show made its initial debut two years earlier – as a radio program with Martha Rountree and Lawrence Spivak as producers. For almost as long as there has been television, there has been "Meet the Press."

NBC’s Chief White House Correspondent, David Gregory, was named moderator of “Meet the Press” on December 7, 2008. He is only the tenth person ever to be a permanent host of the program. He assumed the role from veteran NBC newsman Tom Brokaw, who had served as interim moderator after the untimely death of longtime moderator Tim Russert on June 13, 2008.

President John F. Kennedy once called “Meet the Press” the “fifty-first state.” Since then, every man who has occupied the Oval Office has appeared on the program during his career, as has every vice president since Alben Barkley in 1952.

"Meet the Press” features interviews with all the key players in each presidential administration. Every Secretary of State from John Foster Dulles to Hillary Clinton and every Secretary of Defense from Robert McNamara to Robert Gates has appeared on the program.

Every Sunday morning for 62 years, millions of Americans tune in to get answers from U.S. and world leaders, and hear analysis, discussion and review of the week’s political events from noted journalists and experts.

We are proud to be the highest rated, most watched and most quoted Sunday morning public affairs program.  An average of 4 million viewers join us each week to share in a national dialogue about the important issues of our time.

If it’s Sunday, it’s “Meet the Press.”

For more information visit